Experiencing extreme lag after a short period of playing, help?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Experiencing extreme lag after a short period of playing, help?

Hello,

I just started playing Tera again, and I'm having extreme lag. When I open and play the game, everything's fine, but after about 10-15 minutes of playing, it gets extremely laggy, unresponsive, and there's a lot of audio glitching as well. My PC outside of Tera also gets laggy when this is happening. My specs are more than enough to handle the game, too:

GPU: NVidia GeForce GTX 970
      CPU: Intel Core i5-4440
      RAM: 8GB

I already tried adding C:\Program Files (x86)\TERA and the Tl.exe in C:\Program Files (x86)\TERA\Client as an exclusion to Windows Defender, but it doesn't help.

Help would be greatly appreciated.
    • It's not overheating, I checked it and I have a decent cooling system which has never caused problems with other games. However, the lag does go away immediately after I close Tera.
    • If you're going to set permissions on Windows Defender or w/e (I hate AVs) you should probably do it on C:\Program Files (x86)\TERA\Client\Binaries since that's where the main executable is.

Showing a screenshot of your Task Manager when it "glitches" and rest of PC "is laggy" would help, along with temperatures of your CPU and GPU at that time. (include CPU use/memory use/paging use)
    • I'm currently not near my PC, will check again around friday-saturday.

I do remember that both my CPU and disk usage were like 50-60% while playing Tera. Outside of that it gets very low, around 0-5%.